doc-spreadsheet doc-text doc-image doc-video doc-slideshow doc-pdf

School Crossing Patrols recognised in Road Safety Wales Awards

Five long-serving school crossing patrollers (SCPs) are among the eight winners of the latest Road Safety Wales Awards. The Awards recognise individuals, groups and organisations who have made ‘a real commitment to road safety, above and beyond what would normally be expected of them’.

Winners would traditionally be invited to the annual Road Safety Wales Conference to collect their award, but the event was not held in 2020.

The five SCPs are:

Sian Powell has been keeping pupils safe for the past 12 years while crossing the road near Ysgol Rhydypennau in Ceredigion. She has had to contend with all weathers on the A487 and has built a wonderful rapport with pupils and parents over the years.

Nan Samsudeen has been the crossing patrol at Llandybie School in Carmarthenshire for 18 years. Her commitment to her work was unquestionable and she will be sorely missed now that she has taken the difficult decision to retire.

Elaine Burgess started working in Neath Port Talbot in 2014 after moving to the area from Plymouth, where she had previously served as a SCP for six years. She has been invaluable in her community by providing medical assistance, and always ‘seems to be in the right place at the right time’ to help others.

Linda Evans has been a committed member of Pembrokeshire’s SCP service for over three decades, helping generations cross the road safely. Kirstie Donoghue, road safety officer, describes Linda as ‘one of the many unsung heroes guiding Pembrokeshire’s children safely across our roads’.

Sandra Rogers has entered her fortieth year of exemplary service as a SCP in Newport. As Newport City Council’s second longest serving SCP, Sandra has performed her role with great passion and diligence – and without complaint.

The other award winners are: Mike ‘Puffa’ Jones was recognised for giving up many hours of his time repairing and supplying free bicycles to families, through his ‘Free Bikes 4 Kids’ project. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, his work has continued and Mike now also provides free cycle helmets to accompany the bikes he donates.

Peter Walsh and Paul Morgan have worked tirelessly to promote Crucial Crew in all 22 local authorities across Wales. Those taking part have great fun while learning along the way, which is down to Peter and Paul’s unique style of delivering safety messages to young people.

John Duggan is a real stalwart to Gwent Police and has for many years given up his own time to fit roads policing communications equipment into vehicles used across the force. This is a very technical and time consuming role, and without John there simply wouldn’t be the high level of communications and ANPR capabilities that help keep all road users safe across Gwent.

Teresa Ciano, chair of Road Safety Wales, said: “Despite a difficult year for everyone, Road Safety Wales is delighted to be able to recognise so many deserving people who have made a significant difference to the lives of those in their community.

“The Road Safety Wales Awards recognise good road safety practice, innovative projects and personal contributions being undertaken in Wales. I would like to thank our award winners for their involvement in helping to make Welsh roads safer for everyone.”

Skip to content